Ocre Nu XX 2
MAI Mylène
5 March 2015

GUERIN Mireille

Biographical information/Professional background

Mireille Guérin studied wall art at the Ecole Supérieure des Métiers d’Art (ENSAAMA) in 1973, then did training in tapestry at the Ecole des Beaux-Arts in Angers in 1984. She won 1st departmental prize at the Métiers d’Art (SEMA, Val d’Oise) in 2000 and helped found the Centre d’Art Textile in Angers in 1986.

She has been showing her work in galeries and museums and at contemporary art exhibitions at Les Ateliers de Paris since 1990; she regularly holds training sessions and workshops in tapestry.

Guérin makes use of the ancestral high-warp loom technique, which involves the use of vertical looms in tapestry making. This traditional craft, serving the cause of contemporary art, takes on a new dimension when the artist gives free rein to her creativity.

With this pioneering approach, she sculpts her material, exploring its possibilities for creating a sense of depth and shape through infinite gradations of tincture-plant colors. Her work with color goes hand in hand with, and enhances, her favorite subject: the botanical world.

The gallery French Arts Factory accompanies in a perm way the artist and presents regularly her works.

Ocre Nu XX 2
MAI Mylène
5 mars 2015

GUERIN Mireille

Biographie / Parcours

Mireille poursuit des études d’art mural à l’Ecole Supérieure des Métiers d’Art (ENSAAMA) en 1973, puis une formation de Licier à l’Ecole des Beaux-Arts d’Angers en 1984. Elle obtient le 1er prix départemental des Métiers d’Art (SEMA, Val d’Oise) en 2000, et participe à la création du Centre d’Art Textile d’Angers en 1986.

Elle présente ses créations depuis 1990 en galeries, musées, durant des parcours d’art contemporain, aux Ateliers de Paris ; elle anime également des stages et des ateliers autour de la tapisserie.

Mireille Guérin utilise la technique ancestrale de haute lice qui se pratique sur la chaîne verticale du métier à tisser. Ce savoir-faire traditionnel mis au service de l’art contemporain prend une dimension nouvelle lorsque l’artiste laisse libre cours à sa créativité.

Avec cette approche novatrice, elle sculpte la matière, explore ses possibilités de mise en volume à travers d’infinis dégradés issus de plantes tinctoriales. Ce travail sur la couleur accompagne et enrichit son thème de prédilection : l’évocation du végétal.